It’s Not a Chinook!

After doing a lot of internet research, I finally confirmed what I had suspected from the beginning… It’s not a Chinook!

I posted on one of the forums and got a hot tip that it is in fact a Pont-X SR2 made by the Canadian company Pontiex. It is definitely much more rare then the Toyota Chinook. I was only able to find three mentions of it on all of the interwebs.

First, I found an article in a 1978 issue of Popular Science magazine that focused on mini campers that were the craze at the time (fueled by a desire for good gas mileage with the OPEC embargo and oil crisis). It mentions the Pont-X as “futuristic”. The original price in 1977 was $9,995.00. Click here for the full article.

Screen Shot 2014-05-17 at 1.38.50 PM

I figured it out! That is most definitely what my camper is. I also found a webpage promoting the book “Little House on the Road,” by Jack Wiley. This book is about Jack’s adventures in a 1977 Pont-X that he remodeled. I emailed Jack telling him that I had a camper just like his, and that I’d love to read his book and share pictures. More about Jack to come.

Screen Shot 2014-06-17 at 9.50.04 AM

The last piece of evidence I found was on the Toyotamotorhome forum. Back in 2009 someone posted about their Pont-X:

Image

So the camper formerly known as “The Nook” needs a new identity. Let me know if you have any ideas!

Leave a comment